

# tifr TIFR Centre for Interdisciplinary Sciences

21, Brundavan Colony, Narsingi, Hyderabad 500 075

## Colloquium

# Harbingers of higher education & research and national development in Independent India: A selective comprehension

### **Arun K Grover**

#### Panjab University, Chandigarh

I shall share a description connecting the following dots: (i) Addition of Punjab to British administered territories (1849), (ii) commencement of monitoring of education in schools in all regions under colonial rule (1854), (iii) initiation of affiliating Universities in Calcutta, Madras and Bombay (1857), (iv) University Acts (1860 & 1904), (v) establishing Government Colleges in Lahore and Delhi (1864), (vi) permitting creation of a constituent college of Calcutta University at Lahore and establishing Central College at Allahabad (1869), which progressed to become University of Panjab at Lahore in 1882 and University of Allahabad in 1887, respectively, (vii) encouraging College teachers to take study leave abroad, inviting faculty from England to visit Indian institutions and permitting appointment of Professors in Universities (1904), (viii) establishment of BHU (1916), University of Mysore (1916), Osmania (1918) and AMU (1920), (ix) Dr. Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar (SSB) as Research Professor at BHU (1921-24) and as founder Director University Chemical Laboratories, Lahore (1925-39), (x) creation of CSIR by SSB (1942), (xi) initiation of TIFR by Dr. Homi Bhabha at IISc campus (June 1, 1945) and its formal inauguration at Bombay (19.12.1945), (xii) formation of Committee for Atomic research in CSIR (1945), (xii) creation of Atomic Energy Commission (1948), (xiii) synergy between Bhatnagar & Bhabha, (xiv) creation of UGC with SSB as its first Chairperson (1953), (xv) establishment of ISI by P C Mahalanobis (PCM) & his colleagues (1932) and his contributions of PCM to Five year Plans in independent India (1955-67), and (xvi) contributions of the architect of Green revolution, Dr B P Pal, to IARI, and the human resource development in agricultural sciences. Bhatnagar (1894-1955), Bhabha (1909-1966), Mahalanobis (1893-1973) and BP Pal (1906-1989) were four titans, all elected as FRS, and had much in common as personal characteristics.

Friday, Jul 15th 2016 11:30 AM (Tea/Coffee at 11:15 AM) Seminar Hall, TCIS